Check before you chew

 

Check the ingredients in your gum before you stick it in your mouth. 85% of the major brands of gum contain an artificial sweetener called aspartame, which is also used in yogurt, soft drinks, cookies and candy bars for diabetics. “When heated to 86 degrees Fahrenheit (human mouth = 98.6 degrees Fahrenheit) — aspartame releases free methanol that breaks down into formic acid and formaldehyde in the body.” –Very bad for you.

One thought on “Check before you chew

  1. You learn something new every day and I had no idea that chewing gum could be so bad for you! I started chewing gum when I was 6 (much to my mother’s discretion) as my grandad smoked and always had gum, so I would never leave his house without some.
    I always chew gum on the golf course and when I’m practicing, it helps me to concentrate. I looked up the gum I have and it did contain aspartame, I will definitely be looking into some other options!

Leave a Reply

